Riddle of the Damned

I am not alive,
I am not dead;
Call me what you will,
In your heart I still instil dread.

Fight as you may
Fight as you might
Fight as you will
At my sight you still feel fright…

What am I?

I cause pain
I feel your pain
I pity you,
Yet from your terror I gain.

Day passes faster
Night draws closer
Rest at the first
Hunt at the next

What am I?

Born of evil
Dwelling in sin,
Kill for pleasure
Blood for the demon within.

Slaughter & massacre,
Turmoil & peril,
Are mine to bestow
Till your warm heart is still.

Why do I?

Feel your frailty
But weep not at your loss,
& time & time again
For your deaths I am the cause

Seeking no redemption,
Revelling in rage
When the bloodlust is upon me
The demon is loose from its cage

You still wonder what I am?

Nos’ Feratu my dear
& the father of them all;
The name is Kain
& my legend shall breed a call…

To all of my kind
The children of the night;
May dawn never find you
May dusk hide your plight

2 thoughts on “Riddle of the Damned

  1. Hi Ethan,

    Marylebone library are having an Open Day and I’m running a couple of writers workshops for the Westminster Writers group. The library have agreed to print out an anthology of our work for the day and I’m collecting one piece of work from each person this week. I was wondering whether you wanted to be included? I hope you say yes!!

    Tania

    • Hey Tania, I would definitely love that, but i’m not in U.K right now.
      However if you can, look on my Blog & pick one of your choice.
      or let me know & I can pick.
      I would be delighted to have my stuff included in it.

      Thanx for letting me know btw

Leave a Reply

